Monday, 18 July 2016

CR7 and Messi Fight it out for EUROPE Best player of the year.

Cristiano Ronaldo and Antoine Griezmann have both been named in a 10-man shortlist for UEFA's Best Player in Europe award.

Griezmann, who finished as the top goalscorer at the Euros after scoring six times to help France reach the final, is also in the running alongside Wales talisman Gareth Bale and last year's winner Lionel Messi.

Riyad Mahrez, Jamie Vardy and N'Golo Kante - who all played key roles in Leicester City's remarkable Premier League title win - missed the final 10 but made the top 20, while Wigan Athletic and Northern Ireland striker Will Grigg was a shock inclusion in the top 25.

Grigg secured the same amount of votes as Juventus and France star Paul Pogba and more than Manchester City ace Kevin De Bruyne and Kevin Gameiro - who fired Sevilla to a third straight Europa League triumph.

Europe's golden shoe winner Luis Suarez, Gianluigi Buffon, Toni Kroos, Thomas Muller, Manuel Neuer and Pepe complete the 10-man shortlist.

The accolade - voted for by journalists from each of UEFA's 55 member association - will be cut to a final three on August 5 with the winner announced on August 25, the day of the draw for the Champions League group stage.

UEFA's Top 10 Man Shortlist in full.

1. Gareth Bale (Real Madrid & Wales)
2. Gianluigi Buffon (Juventus & Italy)
3. Antoine Griezmann (Atletico Madrid & France)
4. Toni Kroos (Real Madrid & Germany)
5. Lionel Messi (Barcelona & Argentina)
6. Thomas Muller (Bayern Munich & Germany)
7. Manuel Neuer (Bayern Munich & Germany)
8. Pepe (Real Madrid & Portugal)
9. Cristiano Ronaldo (Real Madrid & Portugal)
10. Luis Suarez (Barcelona & Uruguay)

 11th to 30th list accordingly
11 Riyad Mahrez (Leicester & Algeria)
12 Jamie Vardy (Leicester & England)
13 Dimitri Payet (West Ham & France)
14 Jerome Boateng (Bayern Munich & Germany)
15 Arturo Vidal (Bayern Munich & Chile)
16 Luka Modric (Real Madrid & Croatia)
17 N'Golo Kantc (Leicester & France)
18 Zlatan Ibrahimovic (Paris Saint-Germain/Manchester United & Sweden)
19= Eden Hazard (Chelsea & Belgium)
19= Andres Iniesta (Barcelona & Spain)
19= Neymar (Barcelona & Brazil)
19= Renato Sanches (Benfica/Bayern Munich & Portugal)
23 Robert Lewandowski (Bayern Munich & Poland)
24 Gonzalo Higuain (Napoli & Argentina)
25= Giorgio Chiellini (Juventus & Italy)
25= Diego Godin (Atletico Madrid & Uruguay)
25= Will Grigg (Wigan & Northern Ireland)
25= Hugo Lloris (Tottenham & France)
25= Paul Pogba (Juventus & France)
30= Toby Alderweireld (Tottenham & Belgium)
30= Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang (Borussia Dortmund & Gabon)
30= Kevin De Bruyne (Manchester City & Belgium)
30= Kevin Gameiro (Sevilla & France)
30= Grzegorz Krychowiak (Sevilla/Paris Saint-Germain & Poland)
30= Blaise Matuidi (Paris Saint-Germain & France)
30= Georges-Kevin N'Koudou (Marseille & France)

30= Jan Oblak (Atl├ętico Madrid & Slovenia)